The Wedding Anniversary Post

So tomorrow is my six year wedding anniversary. Sorry obviously I mean ‘our’ six year wedding anniversary.

Six years, how did that go so fast? Oh yes that’s right we have been bringing up our crazy kids and living our busy lives; before you know it six years has passed in the blink of an eye.

I worked out this week that I could have probably ‘accidentally’ tripped in the kitchen whilst holding a carving knife and finished him off and I probably would have been out of jail by now. Or I could have had one of those ‘moments’ where I was getting a heavy based stainless steel saucepan out of the dishwasher and accidentally hit him with it on his right temple lobe and I still would have just been  getting released from the crazy hospital. (There is actually a story to tell …and yes it hurts…)

But no. Here we both are, another year notched on the limitless span of our marriage and do you know what? It feels great.

Now Mr B and I have never really celebrated our anniversary before, something to do with having our first child two months exactly after the nuptials has kind of put the celebrations on the back burner for the last few years, actually leaving the house to go out for dinner just the two of us always felt like way too much effort in the grand scheme of things.

This year, there is a different atmosphere in the build up to the weekend. This year our children are old enough to not need to be parented every thirty seconds and this year Mr B and I actually get to have those things lots of single adults or at least couples without children get to do frequently (no not that you dirty beasts) we get to have conversations. More and more conversations with every day that passes and after years of snatched snippets of each other’s day and passing moments of coupleness this is a nice place to be.

I would not change the last six years at all, I love our family and everything that comes with it but right now I am excited for the next six years and what they are going to bring.  It’s going to be great.

My sister mentioned a song to me this morning that I then went on to listen too. It made me a bit emotional because behind the offbeat tune and the perky lyrics there was the most romantic sentiment I have heard in a long time.

It kind of sums up for me how I am feeling this weekend and how I hope to feel going forward. That I could spend every day until I die as we are, and when it is over and my time is done I will still look for him again and want to spend every day of whatever comes next with him as well.

The title of this song is also particularly apt and I know that Mr B will appreciate it.

 

So why am I writing this…..

 ….well I forgot to buy a present of course. So this is my gift instead.

Leave a Reply

