April Showers

Yesterday something happened that has not occurred for rather a long time. I read a book…a whole book…in one day.

This used to be a frequent event in my life but it hasn’t for a long time and I thought my days of one day love affairs with books were truly in the past. 

It seems they are not.

Now I don’t write reviews, I’m terrible at them but I wanted to take time out of my own work to tell you about someone else’s.

First I need to give you a bit of background. Now you see i’ve had a bit of a shit week, we have had some family news which has pretty much fried my brain and I have been very much in a place where I can’t really think about too much because if I do then I will need to acknowledge that things can not always stay the same. Whilst we all know that I like to work with the tag line about not repeating history etc, it has become apparent to me that you can’t stop the future from happening either – maybe one day I will write a book about that.

So anyway, this week sucks. End of.

My little buddy Zoe at https://lovebookreviews.wordpress.com has been raving about her twinnie Karli Perrin’s book April Showers, and because I always do what Zoe says I dutifully downloaded it on release day.

I opened it, started reading it and then closed it again. Not because it is bad….Nope…not at all. It is really really good, but I was worried because Karli and I have a similar tone to our writing, lots of sarcasm, normally in italics and April Showers is a book about a girl starting University……. so I decided to leave reading it until I had finished Year Two as I was worried I would lose a bit of faith in my own book whilst reading hers! WHAT if I preferred her book to mine??? I am paranoid at the best of times…

Anyway yesterday after a gentle prompt I picked it up again and started to read and then I did not stop.

I can’t remember the last time I read and read and read until there was nothing left. I can’t remember the last time I shouted at a book (in a public place) – well not one that I was not writing myself. 

And yes I love it, love it love it love – do you get my drift? I spammed Karli the whole way through it. Every time I got to a favourite line I just had to let her know.

I needn’t have worried about it being too close to my own, it is in fact completely different. April it seems has morals and knows the different between right and wrong something that my character struggles with. 

April is torn between two guys (um hot ones at that) my Lilah just has to battle her own demons to get what she wants.

So how would I summarise April Showers in just a few words: well it is fun, refreshing, sexy and a huge package of goodness that i can’t urge you all enough to read.

If you want something that will suck you in so you can lose yourself and your own reality for a while, then this my friends is the book to do it in.

The best thing that Karli gave me yesterday was a whole four and a half hours where I forgot everything around me. I forgot my troubles and my woes and just had a right laugh at Manchester University instead. For that I will be eternally grateful.

I asked Karli to give me a writing song, here it is, and I love this almost as much as I love the book. 

 

Image

 

 

Synopsis

What happens when your head and your heart pull you in completely opposite directions?

April Adams is about to find out the hard way.

When April enrols at Manchester University, it feels like a whole new life. New city, new house, new friends…new crush.

Isaac Sharpe is the hottest guy on campus – with an even hotter reputation. After a chance meeting, April quickly finds herself wrapped up in all that he is. But what if all that he is isn’t what it seems?

Caught up in a battle between what she wants and what she thinks she needs, April meets Lukas Roberts. Lukas is the security blanket that she craves so desperately and she finds solace in their friendship. But what happens when she finds more than she bargained for?

April has always been a big believer of fate, but will she learn that she’s in control of her own destiny before it’s too late?

Join April as she embarks on a life changing journey of love and loss, which will have you laughing and crying until the very end

Leave a Reply

