Guest Post from Super Awesome Zoe Pope

Hi everyone *Waves*

So Anna asked me to write a guest post for her bloggy blog blog because you know we are like BFFs right? Oh sorry, I’m Zoe, you can find me over at www.lovebookreviews.wordpress.com – yes I am The Book Lovers, the one who is completely obsessed with Anna here (and she is a stalker of mine – she will opening admit to it, just ask her).

Anyway she asked me to guest post and of course I told her I would, so now you are stuck with my ramblings for a while at least. Good luck with that because this girl can ramble on and on and on….

I’m just kidding and I will totally get on with what I am going to spew crap about for you 😉

So as you can tell from my blog, I am a book blogger. A HUGE book lover – hence the chosen blog name and of course, I am a complete author whore. Like seriously, I will stalk your ass if I fall in love with your book and I will crush so hard on your characters and pretend that they are my boyfriends. I am a complete book boyfriend slut. Okay, getting off topic here.

So I began to read when I was little, yano you kind of have to in school and then my friend handed me a Jacqueline Wilson book and I was hooked on this author. I think I have written nearly everything she has written – minus all the new stuff. I’m not a teeny anymore unfortunately.

So then I picked up a book I found in my mums room – A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks. My mum gave it to me and told me to read it and that’s what I did. I loved every single part of that book and I think that’s why its one of my favourite books – along with the movie of it.

It was my first Nicholas Sparks book and I must have been about 13/14 when I read it. For those of you who don’t know the storyline (Not sure why you wouldn’t) Here is the synopsis:

Every April, when the wind blows from the sea and mingles with the scent of lilacs, Landon Carter remembers his last year at Beaufort High. It was 1958, and Landon had already dated a girl or two. He even swore that he had once been in love. Certainly the last person in town he thought he’d fall for was Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of the town’s Baptist minister.

A quiet girl who always carried a Bible with her schoolbooks, Jamie seemed content living in a world apart from the other teens. She took care of her widowed father, rescued hurt animals, and helped out at the local orphanage. No boy had ever asked her out. Landon would never have dreamed of it.

Then a twist of fate made Jamie his partner for the homecoming dance, and Landon Carter’s life would never be the same. Being with Jamie would show him the depths of the human heart and lead him to a decision so stunning it would send him irrevocably on the road to manhood…

I’m not sure what it is about A Walk To Remember, but I know I was completely hooked by it. Sure it’s based in 1958, but there was just something so different to it that what I had previously been reading with Jacqueline Wilson – well DUH! JW writes children’s books and well this book was more grown up. It had true love and heartbreak and cancer as a storyline. It was about a good girl and a bad boy falling in love and it was about changing and bettering yourself.

I do have to admit, when the film came out I just used to come home from school, put the movie on and say every line along with the actors. This went on for about 6 weeks. YES, that is how in love I am with this book/film. Although there is quite a few scenes in the book that are not in the movie, none of that matter. The love they had in the book, was portrayed brilliantly on screen. I think that is what had be obsessed over A Walk To Remember, and still now, after so many years have passed.

So yeah, from Jacqueline Wilson to Nicholas Sparks to then Sophie Kinsella. Sophie came along in year 9/10. My friend gave me The Undomestic Goddess to read, and I knew, after reading it, that Sophie Kinsella would become one of my favourite authors. After giving the book back, I asked my mum to buy me some Sophie books for Christmas (It was around Xmas when I borrowed it). I was not disappointed at all, and after receiving The Undomestic Goddess, Remember Me? and Can You Keep A Secret? I went out and bought The Shopaholics books. Since then, I have also purchased her books under ‘Madeleine Wickham.’ and bought her recent books. Can you say obsessed much? Yes, yes you can.

So there you have it, how I got into reading. Technically it was school, or my mum or my friend but who cares right? All that matters is that I am besotted, utterly in love with reading now, and there is nothing I would rather do than to curl up in bed, music playing with my kindle and a bloody great book for company.

Saying that, that is what I am off to do now.

BYEEEEEEE

One thought on “Guest Post from Super Awesome Zoe Pope

Leave a Reply

