Goodbye 2014 and HELLO 2015

It’s time for the New Year round up again! Didn’t that go crazy fast? Anyone else left wondering what happened to most of 2014?
Anyone with super observant detective skills might have noticed that I haven’t been on social media, or on my blog at all since the summer, and this is because 2014 has been a very mixed year for me and I’ve had to take some time out to rest and spend a little bit more time being the real me. By real me, I mean the mother, wife and terrible housewife who has a family to look after.
2014 started with the release of The Art of Keeping Faith in April, and whilst I know Delilah McCannon and her crazy behaviour drives readers crazy, I am still very proud of that book, and of the character. Even up to the release point, and in fact a year ago exactly I was already working on my next novel, Gone, which meant I was effectively editing one manuscript whilst writing another all at the same time. I had some huge decisions to make about whether I wanted to continue with my publisher or go Indie, and the stress of it all was quite intense. I stand by my Indie decision and know it’s one of the best decisions I’ve made so far in my writing career.
Then came the shocker, a few days after Gone released I found out I was pregnant, which I wasn’t expecting at all. My children although young are way passed the nappy and sleepless night stage and my entire world just came to a grinding halt as I tried to work out how to be a mother, wife, terrible housewife, writer and look after a baby all without going crazy.
Sadly the worry was taken out of my hands when the pregnancy ended at nine weeks.
The end of the year has been such a blur for me, and I found it impossible to go on twitter or facebook and act like all was okay, because the truth is I wasn’t okay. I was heartbroken.
Since then we’ve lost another pregnancy, just before Christmas, but this time instead of feeling heartbroken, I’m beginning to realise that some things aren’t meant to be. There aren’t always happy endings and you don’t always get what you want.
This last week I’ve really tried to finish 2014 on a positive note. I’ve decided to end my writing break and have already started working on a new release for 2015 (and it’s so exciting I want to tell everyone about it now, but I’m restraining myself). I’m loving being back in creative mode, and realise just how much I enjoy that part of my life. I love to create stories. It’s a simple fact but true.
I’m not going to lie, I’m not that sorry to say goodbye to 2014. It’s been a very odd year. But, I am so excited for 2015; midnight tonight can’t come quick enough!

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for the support I’ve been given this year. The readers who love Lilah and Ben, or Rebecca and Josh, or any other character I write, make it all worthwhile. The friends I have made mean a lot to me, many who started out as writing / blogging buddies are now true friends and that means so much.
I hope everyone has an amazing 2015 and has all their dreams come true.

Anna.xxx

One thought on “Goodbye 2014 and HELLO 2015

  1. hrose2931 says:

    Ok, so maybe the third time is the charm! (This is the third time I have tried to leave a comment! Never letting my son on my computer again!!) I am so glad you have found your creative juices again. I know it’s been a rough year, I am wishing you a brighter, lighter new year. Happy New Year and may the coming year bring you better days!

    Heather

Leave a Reply

