Hurrah for Release Day

It’s finally here, This Love released today and I couldn’t be more proud. I’ve written about many things over the last few years, damaged teenagers, drunk twenty-something’s but this is my first foray into writing about something that I know and do on a daily basis but still don’t totally understand — being a parent. Although lets be honest I know a reasonable amount about being drunk too . . .

Thank you to everyone who pre-ordered and purchased today, it’s still an overwhelming experience to realise that readers are waiting for my next book. I will probably never get used to that fact, so it’s an erstwhile thanks that I send.

The Blog Tour starts tomorrow and there’s a pretty big giveaway along with extracts from the book and other posts. We are also going to have signed paperback giveaways on the FB page so pop along for a chance to win.

Here is a little reminder of This Love

This Love 2Amber’s always planned to leave her overbearing mother and their stifling small town behind as soon as she graduates. That is until her car breaks down outside Bale and Son’s mechanics and she meets Freddy Bale. A boy who’d rather live in the moment than make a five-year-plan.

Ignoring her friends’ warnings, Amber puts all dreams for her perfect future on hold, and dives into the romance heart first. On their last day of school, however, Freddy decides to call off their relationship, and Amber does the only thing she can think of: Run away and never look back. Just like she’d always planned.

Ten years pass before Amber sets foot in town again, only returning to look after her ailing mother. While Freddy wants to make amends, Amber is confronted with her own wrong choices from ten years ago. Choices that could change the lives of everyone she’s ever loved.

When first love is given a second chance and the secrets of the past come hurtling into the present, will Amber and Freddy be able to lay their mistakes to rest and make this love the strongest one of all?

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Exclusive Extract

It’s a silent trip home, both of us lost in our own thoughts; I’m thinking of him maybe falling in love with me, I’m thinking of his dad and the obvious effect losing his wife has had on him. I’m wondering why I didn’t know about any of that. What sort of village is this? But most of all, I’m clutching his locket tight in one hand and his hand in my other as the car turns down the silent dark lanes.

When he pulls up outside my house, he gets out of the car and opens my door, ever the gentleman. I’m beginning to realise this goes far deeper than car doors and polite manners.

“Thank you,” I say again, still clutching my locket.

“Merry Christmas, Amber French.” He leans in swiftly and plants a short kiss on my lips.

“Merry Christmas, Freddy Bale,” I whisper back.

Upstairs in my room, I open the locket and see that inside there is a picture of us taken that first day back in the snow when he said he thought we could be something. The picture is blurry and low grade from the camera phone he’s snapped us with. I don’t care, the memory will sit for all eternity protected by it’s engraved silver casing.

It’s as I sit in the dark, willing the two days of Christmas to be over, I understand we could be not just something, but everything.

Leave a Reply

